The Dutch Darts Championship is the European Tour`s traditional annual trip to the Netherlands. Between 2014 and 2018 Michael van Gerwen dominated his home event with 5 wins in a row before Ian White ended that run in 2019 in Zwolle.

In 2022, the champion was Michael Smith, who will therefore be defending his title in Leeuwarden in 2023.